BMH-NM Sponsors Lott Leadership Institute for High School Students First Session Leader to Leader Luncheon.


The Lott Leadership Institute would like to thank members of the Baptist Memorial Hospital – North Mississippi, CEO, Bill Henning, CFO, Dana Williams, Assistant Administrator Payton Warrington and Director of Human Resources, Debbie Swan, who joined the 22 high school students for the annual Leader to Leader Luncheon.  BMH-NM sponsored the luncheon and joined the students in a lively talk-back session addressing the topics presented by the young leaders.  The issues discussed involved the Medical Home Healthcare Model as well as the HCAHPS initiative, which is an acronym for Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems.  The intent of the HCAHPS initiative is to provide a standardized survey instrument and data collection methodology for measuring patients’ perspectives on hospital care.  Students presented information addressing key questions to both issues.  
The Leader to Leader Luncheon is in its sixth year and has become a highlight of the program.

Ole Miss Alum, Joel Wood, Senior Vice President of Government 
AffairsCouncil of Insurance Agents and Brokers and founder of Johnny’s Half Shell in DC, speaks to the First Session of Lott Leadership Institute for High School Students during their lunch at Johnny’s.


First Session Lott Leadership Institute visits with Lee Carosi
Dunn at the Google Governmental Affairs Office


Trent Lott Leadership Institute Honors Graduating Seniors in Public

Policy Leadership


Lott Leadership 2014 Graduates were honored on Wednesday, April 30, 2014 at a dinner at the Oxford University Club. Pictured above are:

Edward Adams, Gregory Alston, Richard Beneke, Adam Blackwell, James Burt, Franklin Caldwell, Jodie Chavez, Madison Coburn, Charles Crabtree, Charles Jenkins, Matthew Todd Kiefer, Lindsay Krout, Allen Kurr, Augustus Maples, Matthew McDonald, Robert Pyron, Emory Smith, Megan Turcotte, Virginia-Boyd Tyson, Trenton Winford, LaBrandon Pickett, Timothy Abram, Gabrielle Barrientos, Megan McBeth, Jay Nogami, Lyda Phillips. 

Not Pictured: Samantha Eller, Garrett Brooks Fultz, Diego Garcia Esteban,John Jenks, Richard Will, Hunter Nicholson, Daniel Roberts,Benjamin May, Nelo Hamilton


Ole Miss Forensics Hosts Public Debate

Screen Shot 2014-04-23 at 6.04.55 PM

The University of Mississippi Forensics Team invites you to a public debate of Tradition in Worlds Style.  Worlds, also known as British Parliamentary Debate, involves four teams made up of 2 individuals competing for recognition in the larger conversation rather than for a ranking.  New to the United States, Worlds debate allows any intelligent citizen to engage with basic philosophical principles in order to analyze political questions, global trends, and the like. All are welcome to attend our first public debate — participation through questions from the audience floor are encouraged!

Lott Leadership Students Receive High Honors

Six Public Policy Leadership students have been awarded high honors in the weeks leading up to commencement on May 9.

Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial Medal


Christine Nicole Dickason and Phillip Christopher Waller were among the seventy students to receive the Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial Medal during the Honors Convocation Ceremony.

The Marcus Elvis Taylor Memorial was established at the University of Mississippi in 1904 by Dr. William A. Taylor of Booneville in memory of his son, an honored 1871 alumnus of the university. Commonly known as the Taylor Medal, the award encourages meritorious scholarship and outstanding professional conduct.

The Taylor medal is the highest academic award given at the University and recognizes no more than 1 percent of the student body. Award recipients must maintain at least a 3.90 GPA during their time at Ole Miss.

Phi Beta Kappa Initiates 


Adam Maurice Blackwell, Madison Elizabeth Coburn, and Emory Caroline Smith were among the initiates to receive the golden key of Phi Beta Kappa in their fourteenth class of members in course.

Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest undergraduate honors organization in the United States and recognizes students each year for academic excellence. The goal of the Phi Beta Kappa Society is to encourage humane learning – an object which transcends the mere gaining of knowledge to encompass breadth of interest, depth of understanding, intellectual honesty, and respect for a diversity of informed opinion.  Today, the Phi Beta Kappa Society, with about half a million living members, is one of the nation’s leading advocates for the liberal arts and sciences at the undergraduate level.

The University of Mississippi Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa was chartered on April 6, 2001.  It is the second of two chapters established in the state, with the Alpha of Mississippi Chapter residing at Millsaps College.  Ole Miss is now in an elite group of fewer than 300 colleges and universities in the nation that shelter a chapter.  In addition to recognizing outstanding undergraduates at an annual initiation ceremony, the University of Mississippi Chapter sponsors lectures by distinguished Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholars.

Phi Kappa Phi


Christine Nicole Dickason, Kendall Lane Mcdonald and Anna Lee Whisenant were among the new initiates for the Ole Miss chapter of Phi Kappa Phi. Phi Kappa Phi president Dr. Donald L. Dyer presided over the ceremony and was joined by Dean of the Graduate School, Dr. John Kiss, who served as a guest speaker.

Omicron Delta Kappa 


Rob Barber, Kaitlyn Barton, Jessica Brouckaert, Alison Guider, Ryan Henry, Kendall McDonald and Phillip Waller became members of Omicron Delta Kappa. John Brahan and Austin Powell received 2014 Outstanding Freshman Leader Awards.

Latest Tweets

Lott_Leadership @Lott_Leadership
Lott Leadership  @Lott_Leadership
Thanks to @BMHCC North Mississippi for sponsoring the Lott Summer Leader to Leader Luncheon! #LottSummer 
Lott Leadership  @Lott_Leadership
Ole Miss Alum, Joel Wood, Senior Vice President of GovernmentAffairs Council of Insurance Agents and Brokers..... 
Lott Leadership  @Lott_Leadership
First Session Lott Leadership Institute visits with Lee Carosi Dunn at the Google Governmental Affairs Office